This little blog probably won't be very exciting, I'm just wanting a way to keep up with this pregnancy since writing in a journal at night is no longer in my 'pregnancy schedule' as it was with my first pregnancy.
To start at the beginning, you will have to scroll down and go to the oldest post :) Thanks for stopping by!






Thursday, May 26, 2011

Aches and pains...and a nursery!

I am getting UNCOMFORTABLE all of a sudden :( This Friday (tomorrow!) I will be 30 weeks along, which means I have 9 weeks to go….and boy oh boy am I feeling it. In the past 3 days I haven’t been able to sleep very well at night between 2 trips to the potty and a certain little unnamed BOY sneaking in to bed with us around 4am. My lower back has been killing me and as hard as I try to stand up straight and walk ‘normal’, I’ve started to WADDLE :( Walking (Once I’m stretched out!) actually feels wonderful, but then some random muscle on the inside of my thigh starts to throb, so I can’t win!
In positive news, with the help of my friend Mandy (who drove all the way in from Florida!) the nursery is 95% complete!!! Wooohooo!!! The only things it needs to be complete is a shelf hung over the changing table, a mirror hung on a wall and a wall art saying to arrive that will go on the wall behind the crib….other than that it is R-E-A-D-Y…and I seriously couldn’t be more excited! I’m sure that has a LOT to do with my back killing me right now because, believe me when I say, that room was a DISASTER before we started. It had been our spare/guest bedroom, but more than that, it had been the ‘catch all’ room…you know the kind. Most people have a ‘junk drawer’. The Rodgers Family had a ‘junk room’. Tell me you know the kind! The room where when company shows up that you THROW everything inside and shut the door?!?! Or, when company decides to stay, you open up the closet door, shove anything inside that will fit and pray the door doesn’t get opened for fear that everything inside will topple out?!?! Yup, one of THOSE rooms :) The closet had actually gotten SO full that I had began ‘nicely’ stacking piles of junk outside of it…it was horrible! It was SO messy that by the time we were done just cleaning it out, we had filled 8 (EIGHT!) big trash bags and one LARGE Uhaul box full of trash stuff. That is RIDICULOUS to have that much junk just lying around!!! Once we were done cleaning out we started the fun part, rearranging furniture and decorating! Thanks to Mandy’s awesome eye, she suggested we move this over here, that over there and before I knew it I was in *LOVE* with the room! It’s so open (for a tiny room!) and I’m excited!
Here, see for yourself: (Oh and don't mind the fact that the bed isn't made...Gunner & Karlee had been sleeping on the floor while Mandy was visiting and were using the mattress...so if you see extra stuffed animals inside the crib that's where that came from!) AND, if you look closely you may even catch a glimpse of the coming home outfits! It will be adorable regardless of if it decides to be born a boy or a girl!


Above the changing table I have a cute off-white shelf that has teeny little blue and red stars painted on it (it's sitting on the changing table), then behind the glider I have a wrought-iron mirror to hang, and then on the wall where the crib sits I’m ordering some wall art. The mirror was actually the FIRST purchase Scott and I made when we found out I was pregnant with Gunner & Karlee! We had gone to a yard sale (don’t judge…I LOVE second-hand stuff!) and knew we were having a baby. Had no idea we were having twins, had no idea of the sex of them, and at the time still ‘planned’ on waiting to find out what “it” was until it arrived….so we thought we would go with a western-themed bedroom! It wasn’t until I found out what I was having that we had to go camo-crazy and change the theme of the room! So, I’m excited that we will finally find a use for this mirror that we bought so long ago! I will post NEW pictures if and when we ever get the rest of the items hung. I’m waiting on a certain other male-member of my family, so we shall see if everything gets done before the baby arrives!
WOW, I just realized today--adn this post-- will be the last one I make before I go from double-digit weeks left to single-digit weeks left (Did that make any sense to anyone but me?!?! Today I'm 10 weeks until the baby arrives, tomorrow goes to 9, making it a single digit!)

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Third Trimester-woooohoooo!

Well, this little doodle bug and I are officially in the 3rd trimester and moving right along. I often ask myself how time can really be going by THIS quickly, and I guess the only answer I can come up with is that old saying, “Life’s like a roll of toilet paper, the closer you get to the end, the quicker it goes!” I think the older I get the more true that saying becomes :)
I made it in to the 3rd trimester this past Friday, and boy was it a good feeling! Knowing that God-forbid the baby comes early, at this point I’m far enough along that it would have a *really* good chance of surviving without any long-term medical problems is SUCH a great feeling. Another great feeling? Making it past the point of 27 weeks 5 days when I got placed on bedrest with Gunner & Karlee—now THAT is a cause for celebration! I got placed on bedrest with Gman and KJ because of contractions and my blood pressure being out of control…something that could happen at any point with this pregnancy, but so far so good! Each Friday that passes marks one Friday closer to making it full-term and I couldn’t be more excited.
I had my 28-week check up this past Monday and everything looked great. Guppy’s heart beat was 130/minute and my blood pressure was perfect. (wooohooo for small victories!). I’ll go back in 2 weeks and hopefully be told the same thing.
The baby has been keeping me busy with karate-chops and summersaults. I’m amazed at how it can kick me really low in my stomach, yet at the same time kick me really high…I think it’s going to be nice and long! The kids are adorable. They always ask me how I’m feeling, and nightly include the baby in their prayers. At least daily they say or do something so sweet that I tear up. I’ve been so blessed with such loving children!!!
Gunner is VERY determined that this little one will be born a boy. I don’t know if I have mentioned this on the blog before, but because I don’t want to forget this I’d better write it down again! When you ask him what the baby is, before you can even get your question out he tells you “BOY”. When you ask “what if it’s a girl?” you almost don’t have enough time to get the question out before he cuts you off and tells you it’s going to be a boy. This past weekend after Church after driving home from the feed store I asked him what he would do if it ended up being a little girl (this started because the owner of the feed store told us she thinks it will be a girl and Gunner proceeded to try to set her straight on her thinking)…I said “Gunner, I know you want a brother, but what happens if it’s a girl?” He says “NO, it’s a brother.” I again said, “But if it IS a girl, what will you do? You will still love her!” And he says “I will leave.” I said “Ha! And where will you go?” without even thinking he says “California.” It’s almost like if he says it loud enough…if he makes enough people BELIEVE that it’s a boy then it will erase any chance of it being a girl! Poor, poor boy if it comes out a ‘she’ because I seriously wonder what he will do! The funny thing is, whoever doesn’t get lucky in their hope for a sibling of the same sex, actually WINS in the end because they won’t have to share a room for the rest of their lives!

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Today is May 3, 2011

I had my monthly check up yesterday and with that came my 1-hour glucose test to determine if I have gestational diabetes. I had been DREADING that test ever since I found out I was pregnant. No, not dreading the test, I actually like the orange flavored drink, I was dreading the results and the fact that when I failed the 1-hour test I would have to go back to take the 4-hour test. (the 4-hour test is where you go in to the lab fasting for at least 12 hours. When you arrive they draw your blood. You then drink another sugary drink and then for the next 3 hours they draw your blood once an hour. Which means: 4 blood draws+ me being hungry= one unhappy pregnant lady!)
After they drew my blood my doctor came in and checked me. My blood pressure is still doing great. The guppy has a heart rate of 130/minute (keeps slowing down!) and I am measuring 30 weeks. I left the appointment even sadder than when I went in when I found out I was measuring 3 weeks ahead of schedule since gestational diabetes leads to larger babies, so I pouted and moped around all night last night thinking I surely had to be diabetic since I was measuring so large.
I got my results today: I’m FINE!!! I passed my FIRST test and don’t have to take any more-Woooohooooo! When the nurse emailed me this morning I had to email back and ask her to check it again because I was THAT sure I would fail…God DOES answer prayers and allowed me to pass and for that I am sooo grateful!!!